Scrollsawing

I decided to treat myself to a scrollsaw a while ago as I thought it would be something where I could just pop out to my shed and do a quick bit of work without the usual set-up and put away that woodworking involves.
For my birthday I got John Nelson’s Scroll Saw Workbook, which is brilliant as it has projects that build in difficulty while teaching useful skills.  Here are the first three things I made from the book.

image

Not long after these though it was my nephew Alfred’s birthday and I wanted to make him something.  Alfred and his Dad are into mountain biking and were about to redecorate Alfred’s room with a bike theme so I headed to Steve Good’s excellent Scroll Saw Workshop where he has a huge catalogue of free scroll saw patterns.  I chose one but made a small alteration to include Alfred’s name (instead of the words “How I Roll” on the original).  Here’s the result

image

If you look at the original design you will see that I missed out some of the fine detail but I was quite pleased with the result – and apparently Alfred was too.

2 thoughts on “Scrollsawing

  1. I can confirm that Alfred loves his scroll saw bike – it is on proud display in his new bedroom! It looks really impressive….especially for such an early attempt! Thank you Uncle Paul!

Leave a Reply

