Birthday gifts

It was my very good friend Sacha’s birthday over the weekend and, as it was a significant one, I decided that the present should have some extra thought put into it. This is a quilted bottle carrier made from an old curtain (the other curtain went into making a laundry basket). The checks were a great choice as it turned out because it allowed me to quilt quite accurately. I used my walking foot for my first ever proper attempt at quilting.

image

I’m really annoyed with myself for not taking many photos of this bag in action. You can fit 8 bottles of wine in it (although that’s very heavy and I’m not sure I trust my stitching enough – 6 was no problem though). Obviously you can’t give a friend an empty bag so I filled the spaces with 2 tubes of Pringles, a bottle of prosecco, a bottle of cider, some chocs, homemade advocaat (Paul made that), homemade amaretto and the bag below.

image

I got this fabric from Ikea in Edinburgh and I’ve chosen it to cover our dining room chairs (you’ll get to see them soon (ish)). There was a bit left over and I thought it would make a great bag.  The patterns for both these bags came from this book:

image

In fact that is the bottle carrier at the top middle. I love the fact that it’s called “Sew a metre” when inside there is no reference whatsoever to any metric measurements!

I’ve decided I quite like making bags.  They’re fun and they hardly use any fabric. I did get myself into a bit of a pickle at this stage though:

image

The bag has a zip closure and it needed to be open when it come to turning the bag through. I didn’t realise this very obvious fact (it didn’t mention it in the instructions in my defence) and I just couldn’t wiggle it open with my fingers so the unpicker had to come out!

Here is the bag on a Saturday night out in Bristol where a good night was had by all – including the strange man, who I can’t remember the name of, who took great delight in photo bombing us!

image

Leave a Reply

