Dewsbury treasure

Yesterday I had a great day out at Dewsbury fabric shopping with some fellow bloggers.

image

The day was organised by Ali from Thimberlina and she did a wonderful job.  If you want to read about the day you can here.  Who knew that Dewsbury had so much fabric choice? Much better than Scarborough (unless you’re a quilter in which case it’s pretty good).  We went to two fabric shops, Lucky Fashions (no online link, sorry!) and Fabworks  and they were both great. I could have spent an absolute fortune! Here is my haul…

image

This fab fabric was from Lucky Fashions and it’s reversible. To me it’s crying out to be a shirt dress – I’m thinking Pauline Alice Cami.  The reverse side would make a great collar, cuffs and pocket. I’ve seen some lovely versions of this dress on the internet.

image

image

This is the fabric I’m most relieved about getting. After much hunting around, and thinking I may have to risk an internet purchase, I have finally got my bridesmaid dress fabric. I had envisaged silk, which this is not. It’s a cotton sateen and the colour matches the colour card I’d been given perfectly! My original plan was to make most of By Hand London’s dresses as toiles and decide which I like best. Seeing this fabric, I had to strike while the iron was hot and make a decision as the different patterns require different fabric choices. This fabric has a lovely drape and will be perfect for the Flora. I bought the remainder of the bolt – about 4 metres.

image

image

This was my splurge. A gorgeous Liberty print cotton lawn. Destined for a summery top I think.

image

image

The next fabric is a stretch Jersey. It’s quite thick and heavy so may be quite warm. I was thinking the “in a twist dress” by So Sew Easy.

image

image

It would also be perfect for this….

image

This pattern, also from GBSB book 3. It looks great fun to make so for that reason I’m tempted. However it may be a little avant-garde for my tastes. I’m open to persuasion though (although my husband detests it!)

And finally some scuba fabric. Don’t know what I’m going to do with it yet (any ideas – 1m of 60″ wide).

image

It’s all washed and ready to go now (although I did manage to dye my Liberty and some BHL fabric pink – I was gutted but all sorted now thanks to Dylon SOS Colour Run)

The only choice left is to decide what to make first…

21 thoughts on “Dewsbury treasure

  1. Oooo! Your fabric looks just as good in the pix as in real life! I still need to go back and buy that checked one before they sell out.
    A word of warning about the gbsb dress – I’ve just made it, wait to you see what a buggar I look in it before you cut into your fabric! If you look at the women wearing it, one of the shots makes her head look tiny & the rest of her massive – that’s just what it did to me! Maybe it’s just me that’s not tall enough to carry it off!
    Anyway, on a brighter note, it was lovely meeting you! ✂️😃✂️

    • It was lovely meeting you too! Thanks for the heads up about the GBSB dress. Everyone has been really raving about it but I think it is quite odd. Probably not my thing anyway. I look forward to your post about it!

  2. I was about to respond on your title alone as fabric shopping is one of my most favorite things ever to do! And to think of doing it with other like minded women seems super special! And then I saw the rest of your post and wow! It is awesome! Thank you for sharing your experience and inspiring an already happy sewing spirit! Great purchases and beautiful pictures. I especially love the simple beauty of the sleeveless top.

    • Thank you so much for commenting! I must admit I did go home happy yesterday and am now itching to start!

  3. Lovely haul! I was that busy shopping I don’t think I actually saw what everyone else bought! Going to post mine up tomorrow! Like you my fabric is washed and ready to go! I’ve already cut out my first project and a pattern for another one! I’m really excited! Was lovely meeting you and hopefully we will all be able to get together again soon!

    • It was lovely to meet you too! I noticed you bought a fair bit of fabric yourself. I’m really looking forward to reading about it!

  4. Pingback: GBSB Fashion With Fabric – The Drapey Knit Dress | T H I M B E R L I N A

    • It was lovely meeting you! I’m particularly looking forward to seeing what you do with the beautiful green fabric you bought! X

  5. Pingback: In a twist | applebymakes

  6. Pingback: Me-Made-May Week 2 | applebymakes

  7. Pingback: Hers and hers matching leggings | applebymakes

  8. Pingback: The end of MMM15 and a new frock | applebymakes

  9. Pingback: Being a bridesmaid! | applebymakes

  10. Pingback: Pauline Alice’s Cami dress for our two-year blogiversary! | applebymakes

  11. Pingback: Cami dress with 2-sided fabric | The Monthly Stitch

  12. Pingback: #yorkshirespoolettes second meet up | applebymakes

Leave a Reply

