Hinges

Just a quick post here with a couple of pictures.  During my last scroll sawing session, as well as the wooden box, I also made a pair of hinges.  It was just one of those things where I had seen them in my book of scroll saw boxes and loved the idea.

I had also recently got a piece of purpleheart from a local woodworking shop and thought it would be fun to have purple hinges.  What I didn’t realise, having not worked with purpleheart before, is that it is a very hard wood and was quite difficult to cut on the scrollsaw.   

The centre is just a piece of dowel, although I did have to sand it down a bit to fit.  I’m pretty pleased with the end result.  Hopefully, in the future, there will be another posting where they get incorporated into a box with a hinged lid.

Leave a Reply

