Me-Made-May week 1

My first ever attempt at Me-Made-May is off to a good start! I’m going to be wearing everything I’ve ever made (that I still have) throughout this month and decide how I feel about each item. Before I started I was worried, what with May being a spring month and everything, that I would be unable to wear my knitted stuff as it would be too warm. No worries on that score. I’m now concerned that it’s going to be too cold to wear my summer tops!

image

My knitted tank top that I described here.

image

My Safari skirt that I love and adore. Definitely a keeper.

image

I felt ridiculous in this knitted top. I like the pattern but I made this far too short. The sleeves are too short as well. This was made 9 years ago and I’ve worn it twice (now). It’s taking up valuable space so it’s going to be unravelled and made into something else. That Rowan wool is too posh to chuck away.

image

My Pie-smuggling top. It’s OK but not really one to wear in public unless I can wear a coat over it. I’ll keep it for now..

image

Another hand knitted jumper. Has been washed and worn loads so another keeper. Collar’s a bit dodgy though.

image

A bit of a cop-out this one, but then I did say ‘refashioned’ in my pledge so it counts. I added the ribbon trim to a denim skirt but the trim has faded and the skirt is massive. Off to the charity shop with this.

image

Sorry about the mirror selfie – the family is getting bored of my photo taking! This is an unblogged freebie pattern. The pattern came in small, medium & large. It didn’t come with measurements so I went for the middle one. It’s too big (and no one can say I’m small) and boxy. It’s also too short, despite me adding length to it. Another one for the charity shop.
How are you getting on with Me-Made-May?

10 thoughts on “Me-Made-May week 1

  1. Love be you safari skirt – is that the one you wore to the meet up? I like your pink jumper, how about making a top to go underneath it that’s a few inches longer – either in the same colour or a floral one with the same colour in. It’d probably give the illusion of looking longer. I’m sure there’d be something to match in fabworks! πŸ˜€

    • Yes it is the one I wore to the meet up – I wear it loads. The pink jumper looks OK on the pics but it’s very shoddily done if I’m honest. Its days are numbered. Although Fabworks is still very tempting…

  2. I actually really like your pie smuggling top! And the safari skirt is ace – can see why you love it! I am inspired to knit longer jumpers , so far its been cropped jumpers because I am impatient but I love how you paor up the jumpers with straight skirtsπŸ˜ƒ. A great start to MMM15πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

    • Thank you! My knitted jumper came up too short because I was impatient too. I’ve still got a spare ball of that yarn so there was no need really to make it so short. You live and learn…

  3. Your safari skirt is fab, can see why it gets a lot of wear. Well done on your cull so far. It’s really satisfying to make some room. I decluttered my children’s bookshelves this week: three boxes to the charity shop today and some degree of control regained πŸ™‚

  4. It’s such a good feeling getting rid of all the rubbish isn’t it? I’m much better at getting rid of my children’s outgrown things than my own. Me Made May is teaching me a thing or two!

  5. Pingback: Me Made May Week 3 | applebymakes

  6. Pingback: The end of MMM15 and a new frock | applebymakes

Leave a Reply

