Dolphin Puzzle

It’s the summer holidays! So I get to spend a bit more time in my shed doing some scrolling (and other woodwork).

Not long ago I got the latest issue of Scrollsaw Woodworking and Crafts magazine (Issue 59) and one project caught my eye.  A dolphin jigsaw that was reasonably easy to make but looked good as well.  Here are all the pieces: 

I used a piece of 3/4″ elm that I bought ages ago and has been waiting for a good project.  There are no internal cuts so I just had to drill some 1.5mm holes for eyes and then use a no.7 reverse blade to make all the cuts.  Apart from a few tight corners nothing was too tricky and I think my blade control is getting better.  Finally a quick sand and then I applied Danish oil (my go to finish for most projects) to the dolphins so that they stand out and left the other pieces plain. 

I’ve got a few other projects on the go so I can hopefully blog them fairly soon. One of them is a ‘big’ project so I really ought to do an interim “what I’ve done so far” post…

2 thoughts on “Dolphin Puzzle

    • Thanks very much. I’m not sure what to do with it – originally I was thinking of it being a present for someone but now I like it and might want to keep it on display for myself. Maybe in 30 years time the grandchildren will be playing with it when they visit! Paul

Leave a Reply

