Me Made May 2016

A couple of weeks ago I made my Me Made May pledge. Here it is…

I, Corrine Appleby of applebymakes.wordpress.com, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’16. I endeavour to wear a handmade garment each day for the duration of May 2016

This will be the second year I’ve taken part. Last year was so much fun but my challenge was slightly different. Last year I pledged to wear every garment I’ve ever made. I had to repeat an item a couple of times, but really I was surprised at how many handmade clothes I had. Since last May I’ve had a bit of a cull and have got rid of a lot of me-mades. Let’s take a moment to mourn the passing of these items:

BeFunky Collage

Bye bye my badly fitting Pastille dress and supposedly wearable Charlotte/Flora toile. Bye bye first garment I ever made with no help (the black shorts). See you button back blouse that was far too tight. I am sad to see the trousers go though. I literally wore them out! Good riddance crapply knitted tops and au revoir boxy bone top that never suited me from the get go.

The question is have I made enough stuff to replace them? Who knows!

So this year I’m keeping it simple. I don’t think I’ll be wearing every handmade item I’ve got this year (sequin top to work? Bridesmaid dress to Sainsbury’s?) as I really won’t have the occasions to wear my fancy stuff. I’ll give it a good go though:)

Good luck fellow Me-Made Mayers!

 

8 thoughts on “Me Made May 2016

  1. 🙂 Always harder to get rid of MeMade items so well done for clearing them. My pledge takes a similar angle this year, I’ll be forcing myself to get rid of any items I’m only sentimentally holding on to. Yikes, not sure I’m woman enough, all that time and effort…

    • Yes it was a bit of a wrench! But I made most of these things so long ago that all the work you put in becomes a hazy memory!

  2. I’m keeping it easy too as May is mad for me personally. I would have liked to be a bit more creative, but perhaps 2017 will let me. It is always hard to get rid of the Me Made items. I’m just about to wish a lovely black dress that I just don’t wear goodbye. It will be sad!

    • I’m sure 2017 will be your year! I hope that your black dress goes to a nice new home. I managed to give some of my me-mades away which I prefer as then the hard work hasn’t been for nothing.

Leave a Reply

