MIY Walkley tops

I really enjoyed Me Made May this year but it kind of fizzled out right at the end for me. I managed a different garment right through apart from the last two days. I didn’t have a single me-made garment that I felt I could comfortably wear whilst being stuck in a car for hours whilst we drove to the lake district. This identified a bit of a wardrobe gap for me. I needed some simple, boring, comfy t-shirts! I decided to make the Walkley vest twice! Here they are:

image

and…

image

This sewing fitted nicely into indie pattern month over at The Monthly Stitch where the first week’s challenge was to sew with an indie pattern company you haven’t sewn with before. I bought this pattern as part of a pattern bundle back in September and this is the first time I’ve used it.

If you want a quick sew then this is the pattern for you. The PDF has only 6 sheets of paper, they all fit together perfectly, and best of all no paper needs trimming! This pattern was put together and traced in under 15 minutes. There is only one pattern piece as it’s the same for the front and back piece. So minimum cutting out too!

image

I did have a few issues with the blue one (read my Monthly Stitch post here if you’re interested). However, the blue one has turned out to be my favourite! Judging by the drag lines across the bust on the stripey one it looks like an FBA is in order, but there are no drag lines on the blue one.

I must confess that I haven’t worn the vertical striped one yet but I have worn the blue one as it’s a much nicer fabric! I’m going to keep this blog postΒ short and sweet as I’ve already written a ton of stuff about these tops on the Monthly Stitch and I’m starting to get a bit of a blogging back-log! πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “MIY Walkley tops

  1. Always good to have an easy make that gets worn over and over again. Last summer holidays I made 6 grainline scout tops, so wear at least one of them once a week.

    • Absolutely! I’m normally quite rubbish at making the same pattern more than once but I’m getting better and it’s so much quicker second time through! The Scout Tee is on my radar but I haven’t succumbed to buying the pattern just yet!

  2. I’ve seen that pattern about, great choice for filling the gap, and like the sound that the paper doesn’t need trimming. Might have to invest…..! πŸ˜€

  3. Pingback: Stuff I should have blogged about | applebymakes

  4. Pingback: Me Made May 2017 | applebymakes

Leave a Reply

