Cheeseboard

So, apparently I don’t blog often enough. Which must be true because I have got a few projects that I’ve completed but never blogged about. Here’s the first one in an attempt to catch up.

At last year’s Harrogate woodworking show I bought some oak planks. I’ve used a little bit but I wanted to have a go at shaping a simple chopping board. Here it is:

I drew a simple template on paper, folding the paper in half to make sure it was symmetrical, marked the shape onto the wood, drilled the hole in the handle and then cut it out with a jigsaw.

Unfortunately, because I didn’t really have the correct blade in my jigsaw I got some bad scorching around the tight corners. I sanded a lot of it away but you can still see some. For this photo I propped it up using a bowl of thread trimmings, just so there is at least some evidence of sewing in this post.

I then decided to have a play with my pyrography kit by putting a picture in one corner. I printed it out in reverse on our laser printer and then used some heat from the pyrography pen to transfer it to the wood. Then I just traced over the design with a fine tip.

Finally, I gave the whole thing a coat of food safe mineral oil.

I must blog more often.  I must blog more often. I must …

5 thoughts on “Cheeseboard

  1. You are my woodwork idol! I so want to do that too, but I hardly have enough room for all my sewing stuff. No way can I fit a jigsaw in my flat! Plus my husband thinks I have gone mad :D. Awesome project! I love the Fromage!!

Leave a Reply

