#StitchingSanta Reveal 2016

I have been involved in the sewing (and knitting) world’s answer to Secret Santa since it was a thing three years ago. Each year it goes from strength to strength. It’s time to blog about the lovely items I got in my #StitchingSanta parcel 2016!

My lovely gifter was Sally from the Yorkshire Sewist who put together a lovely package for me. I was lucky to get three separate presents which meant I could spread out the opening throughout Christmas day. We’re not the type of family who rips presents open first thing in the morning. We like to torture our children and open presents slowly one at a time throughout the whole day. So my Stitching Santa presents was the first and the last ones to be opened on the day! Here’s what was in the first parcel…

stitching-santa-3

Some small pieces of fabric. Perfect for making all sorts of bits and bobs (which I do a lot of!) but I must say I could do with more of that green to make a garment! How gorgeous is that fabric?

stitching-santa-2

More lovely fabric and a little bit more to play with. This would make a lovely skirt or top.

stitching-santa-1

Some really pretty cotton lawn fabric. This would make a lovely floaty summer dress.

That’s not all. I also got some sewing bits…

stitching-santa-8

A GBSB sew your own basket. I may make this for my daughter to use. I’ve not decided yet but it looks like a fun and quick project.

stitching-santa-9

Some pins and threads – always useful!

Still that’s not all!

stitching-santa-7

A ‘new to me’ magazine. There’s a fair few projects in here including some potential #stichingsanta presents for 2017!

stitching-santa-5

The raglan dress/top pattern from the Avid Seamstress. This is new to me and I’m very excited to be getting this.

stitching-santa-6

New to me pattern company How to Do Fashion. This pattern is NO.8 SVANEKE. This looks perfect for work. The tops and skirt combined look like a dress. I’m looking forward to trying this!

And finally…

stitching-santa-4

A great wardrobe builder. I’m particularly liking those trousers!

Thank you so much Sally for my fantastic prezzies. You must have done some very clever budgeting to get this little lot for the £10 maximum spend. A fantastically put together parcel – I feel very lucky. And also thanks again to Sheila from Sewchet for organising the swap for the second year running. I really appreciate it!

I’ll be back in the next day or two to write about the obligatory review of 2016 post! See you then!

If you would like to read about previous year’s Stitching Santas you can do so here:

 

 

11 thoughts on “#StitchingSanta Reveal 2016

  1. Very clever budgeting to be able to include Indie patterns of any kind! I managed to get some great books in the charity shop, too, at bargain prices. I keep my eyes peeled all year round now, looking for bargains to include in my parcels.

    • Definitely clever budgeting but I think she knows people so gets freebies for which I’m grateful! I also start the hunt early!

  2. Pingback: Appleby Makes’ Colour Block Top TUTORIAL | Simple Sew Blog

  3. Pingback: Simple Sew Colour-block top tutorial | applebymakes

  4. Pingback: #KB Pattern Swap | applebymakes

  5. Pingback: New to me: How to do Fashion | The Monthly Stitch

  6. Pingback: How to do Fashion – #no. 8 Svaneke | applebymakes

Leave a Reply

