2o16

I love reading about your review posts so here’s mine. And in a blatant copycat of Hila at Saturday Night Stitch I have created an infographic!

2016

Perhaps not as polished as Hila’s and I’ve certainly not been as productive but I think I’ve done pretty well! I’ve certainly felt productive – well, in the first half of the year at any rate! Putting this together I was very surprised to see that I sew more stuff from sewing books than either paper or PDF patterns. I have recently acquired four more sewing books and I’m looking forward to using them in 2017. I also find it interesting that all the Instagram likes are for dresses which I don’t wear that often (I’m getting better though)! My personal favourite is my leather skirt refashion though. And I’ve reached for this almost every time I’ve gone out. I just love it and it’s wipe clean only! Which means it is always in my wardrobe.

I set myself some sewing targets for the year. Let’s see how I got on (and don’t get your hopes up)!

Make some proper trousers! I’ve made trousers with an elasticated waist, and now leggings, but not proper trousers. Yep I did make these palazzo pants although they were so easy I’m not sure they really count!

After I’ve made trousers, I would like to progress to jeans. This may be towards the end of the year! Hmmm. Why do I never learn that the end of the year is bedlam and not the time to be making complicated projects? This resolution will carry forward to next year. I have made some slight progress though. I now have a pattern (two actually) and some suitable fabric for making a toile. I will give these a go near the start of the year.

Participate more in the Monthly Stitch challenges. I really like the idea of them and I would like to be more proactive. Oooh yes I think I can tick this one off. I would still like to do some more though.

Like many other bloggers I would like to make inroads in reducing my stash. I will still buy fabric (Dewsbury here I come!) but I really need to start using what I’ve got before it starts taking over my entire house! HA HA HA HA HA! Whatever…

Knit something! But I have to finish my socks first. I’m going to try something a little bigger, like a jumper or cardigan. I’ve knitted a meerkat but I’ve not finished sewing it up. Baby steps… (and no, I really can’t bring myself to finish those socks and I can’t even explain why).

Not brilliant but it could be worse. You should see how my non-sewing resolutions have gone though!

Anyway, targets for this year? Definitely those jeans but I’m not going to specify targets this year. I’m going to sew and make what I feel like and enjoy the process! I could do with a couple of posh tops though so that may be a good place to start.

Here’s to 2017!

9 thoughts on “2o16

  1. I love your infographic! Sp many things I didnt think to add in mine – making notes for next year :-). Well done on a well balanced making year – you nearly did 50/50 for you and others (a ratio I need to move towards). Congratulations on becoming a SimplySew Blogger .

    OK Corrine I am going to get REAL with you and you might not like it but here goes – There is no reason why you cant make jeans if you could work with leather and make an amazing badass leather skirt (I know its badass because I have seen it in real life and fondled it!) Seriously – LEATHER TRUMPS JEANS!!! Jeans are much easier than you are building them up to be – honestly, I felt that way way too and I seriously kicked myself in the bum for putting it off for so long. Simplicity s8222 has a video sew-along which is fantastic here is the tutorial (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tk64zUx_GG8). Your mission, should you choose to accept it is to watch the 6 short videos – get some ponte or any stretch fabric – its doesn’t have to be denim and just do it! You will be so shocked at how easy they are to make. Please dont put it off till the end of the year – start your sewing year off with a bang by ticking off jeans and I bet you have 4 pairs by the end of the year :-). Go on…….I dare you….

    • I LOVE that you got real with me and have given me a good talking to! You’re right, I’m going to start on those jeans! My toile fabric has bypassed the massive queue of fabric waiting to be washed before heading into the stash and it’ll be ready to go shortly. In the meantime I will do my homework and watch the videos and get some supplies. Eeek! Exciting!

  2. PS I got so carried away in preaching about jeans I forgot to mention how much I have enjoyed your blog this year and love seeing your various interests and other hobbies which are always inspiring. Heres to 2017! I’ll be seeing you in Dewsbury.xxx

  3. You shouldn’t really compare your productivity to Hila’s – I swear she has more hours in her day than us mere mortals! Your stats make pretty impressive reading in my book:)

  4. Pingback: I won a Bloggers Recognition Award | Crafty sew and sew in Dorset

Leave a Reply

