How to do Fashion – #no. 8 Svaneke

There are many indie pattern companies that I have yet to try and I have a number of patterns from them in my stash. I was having difficulties choosing a ‘new to me‘ pattern for the Monthly Stitch challenge. I was thinking originally about the Nettie Bodysuit from Closet Case Patterns (yes, I have yet to sew a single thing from this company) but my lack of working overlocker put paid to that idea. I then remembered the pattern I received from my #stitchingsanta parcel. It is from IPM sponsor How to do Fashion.

The patternI was given the #no. 8 Svaneke pattern and thought this was perfect for the challenge. The pattern includes a simple gathered skirt and two tops. I went for variation 1, a button up blouse with a flat collar and a peplum. I always need smart blouses for work and I thought this would fit the bill perfectly.

f9a463edaad8e2850ae7fc6001924e11

The pattern comes in lovely packaging and it is printed on thick paper. However, it is printed two sided so you have to trace. Also, it does not come with instructions. You have to go to the website to get those. The instructions are on the brief side but I followed them ok and everything worked, so they must be good!

Fabric and notions: Isn’t the fabric gorgeous?

1733bf5584da62e59c54a5251db15297

It is a lovely lightweight cotton lawn that I bought a few months ago from Fabworks. It’s called Dark Side of the Moon and I’m afraid it’s sold out. I must have got the end of the bolt because I ordered the last metre and I received about a metre and a half. Thanks Fabworks! I bought it without a project in mind, I just had to have the fabric. This pattern works perfectly with it. I also needed 5 buttons.

Alterations/design changes:  For my dress in the last challenge, I said that it was the first time I had to carry out an FBA on a pattern. Well apparently I have big boobs because I definitely had to another FBA for this. Thankfully I made a toile (in a UK size 12) and found the fit was lovely across the back and shoulders but wouldn’t close across the bust. The FBA was straightforward to do but this make took a little time to get going because of all the fitting work.  I also found that the bust dart was far too high. I had to lower it by a whole inch!

dcf34491ef7fd7f3cfd955ea8c597b64

Other issues: Apart from my own incompetence I didn’t really have any issues. Everything was going swimmingly until I realised how little time I had left to get this project finished (the deadline was last Friday but it gets published on the Monthly Stitch site first). I ended up unpicking a buttonhole twice which was such a pain. The first time it was on a wonk, the second time I managed to get the blouse caught underneath it. It was painstaking to unpick but that’s what happens when you rush.

The only other (non) issue was that this pattern comes with 1cm seam allowances rather than the usual 1.5cm. Some people prefer this but I like a bit of leeway with my seam allowances. However, setting in the sleeves was easier with the smaller allowances.

5319e3eac2064e99b4d204f2bbd32154

I’m so pleased with the fit I’ve managed to achieve with this blouse. I have no gaping across the bust at all. It’s also given the illusion that I have an hour glass figure with the tight waist and the peplum. Rather than darts it has pleats at the front and back which gives a lovely billowing top!

e843082e454b1aa39f5bc2fef555695b

 

5bc87c1f8dc3799475b73e1056ab745c

e973168ea062a793f0c157139ba89ff9.jpg

I really like my new top. It’s really pretty without being too girly. I love the pleats – it makes a nice change from the usual darts. It’s also very comfortable to wear and I have full movement in my arms which I don’t have in so many of my woven makes. Regardless of where this project came for this challenge (which was nowhere!), I have got a lovely new top out of it. That’s what it’s all about isn’t it?

 

8 thoughts on “How to do Fashion – #no. 8 Svaneke

  1. Oh, I do love a peplum to give the illusion of a smaller waist – such a great invention! I seem to recall that you lucked out on the pattern front in the Stitching Santa? No doubt you’ll be making more of these as it really is the perfect work blouse.

    • Thanks Sheila! Well remembered – it was my stitching Santa present. I will definitely be making more of these!

Leave a Reply

