Simple Sew Lapwing Trousers

Hello again! I’m back with another Simple Sew blog post to show off my new Lapwing trousers. This pattern would make a great first trouser pattern.  They are a loose fit so that would be one less thing to worry about. The Lapwing trousers are a casual trouser that have a drawstring waist. If you would like to follow a tutorial to make these you can read this one written by the Wardrobe Architect.

Lapwing 1

One of my first makes was a pair of loose drawstring linen trousers and I literally wore them out! Nothing to do with my stitching but the fabric between my thighs got very threadbare! Does that happen with anyone else? I chose this pattern to replace my much missed trousers.

I was very lucky to receive some fabric from Rainbow Fabrics and I chose the Dogtooth Aran Irish Linen. I was very tempted by their cupro fabric as they are famous for it and I want to know what all the fuss is about! But I really wanted my linen trousers back so the linen won this time around. Maybe next time cupro!

I very much want to be able to wear these trousers to work. Some people choose to use the Lapwings as PJ bottoms, and they would be perfect for that. I changed the pattern a bit to make them a little less pajama-ey.

The first thing I did was to add some extra pockets to the back. I used a patch pocket, the pattern from my first and original trousers! I added these before sewing up anything else.

Lapwing 2

Other things I did was to understitch the side pockets to the seam allowance. This prevents the inside of the pocket from flipping out.

Lapwing 59

I also added elastic to the waist for a little extra security.  If you are doing this make sure there are no twists in the elastic. I had to cut away this lovely stitching as I had a half twist in the elastic!

Lapwing 69

I also wanted to make my own matching drawstring. This was very easy.  I cut two strips of fabric 66cm (26″) by 5cm (2.5″) and joined them together to make one very long strip. I pressed the seam allowance in the middle open. I then pressed the entire length of the drawstring in half to get the middle line. I opened and then folded each long edge to the middle and pressed.

Lapwing 79

I then folded the whole thing in half to be left with one very long, skinny strip.

Lapwing 89

Finally I edge stitched the whole strip on both sides. I used my ‘stitch in the ditch’ sewing machine foot to do this. I just position the blade on the edge of my fabric and nudge my needle over a couple of mm and just stitch away.

Lapwing 99

To neaten everything off I folded the ends in, stitched them down and cut away the excess thready mess. You could knot the ends if you wish.

Lapwing 8

Lapwing 9

Lapwing 10

P1030160

I’m really pleased with my new, comfy trousers. I’m pretty optimistic that these will get a lot of wear, particularly in the summer as these are so light and breezy!

5 thoughts on “Simple Sew Lapwing Trousers

  1. Pingback: The end of Me Made May 2018 | applebymakes

  2. Pingback: My April makes | applebymakes

  3. Pingback: A shirt for (me and) my husband | applebymakes

Leave a comment